Nominate a Deserving Member of the Defence Community Today!

Do you know a member of the Defence community who:

  • Is willing to resolve problems informally and quickly;
  • Supports alternative means of resolving disputes;
  • Has the courage not to turn a blind eye to difficult situations, but who finds ways to resolve them in a manner consistent with fairness, loyalty and integrity;
  • Identifies issues of unfairness and a means of resolving them;
  • Has a systemic approach to problem solving; and/or
  • The resourcefulness to propose or consider innovative solutions?

If so, then we would like to hear from you. My Office is now accepting nominations for the 2015 Liz Hoffman Memorial Commendation. This annual award serves to recognize Canadian Armed Forces members, civilian employees and family members who go the extra mile and exceed expectations in helping their colleagues resolve a difficult problem or in bringing about positive and lasting change to the Department of National Defence and the Canadian Armed Forces.

Liz Hoffman was an investigator with our Office who had a deeply rooted sense of fairness and was a tremendous force for positive change. This commendation allows us to recognize those in the Defence community who, like Liz, are dedicated to helping others and making a difference.

Award recipients will receive:

  • A framed citation;
  • An engraved glass sculpture created by a well-known Aboriginal artist; and
  • A trip to Ottawa to be recognized at a special ceremony on October 22, 2015.

In previous years, the Minister of National Defence, the Associate Minister of National Defence, the Chief of the Defence Staff, the Vice Chief of the Defence Staff and numerous parliamentarians, senior leaders and officials have attended the lunch and ceremony honouring award recipients.

Members of our Advisory Council, along with Liz Hoffman’s daughter and I, will review all submissions received on or before April 30, 2015. All nominators and nominees – whether successful or unsuccessful – will be advised of the outcome of the process in the summer of 2015. A maximum of three recipients will be chosen.

I look forward to reviewing all of the nominations for our 2015 award – as an Office, we find these stories of service and dedication inspiring.

Gary Walbourne

Date modified: